Icon Size Range

What is the Icon size range? Specifically what torso length range will it fit.  After getting these questions from customers and going back through our site, I realized I did not do a very good job with size information for the Icon. My apologies, below is sizing information quoted directly from the design team who laid out the sizing, dimensions and ergonomics of the Icon.  This should make it much more clear and easier to understand.

ICON Carbon Fiber Frame Size Range

Short answer: Should fit an optimal range of 17.5 – 22.5 inch torso.  But it could be stretched fit a 17.0 inch and up to a 23.0 inch torso.

Longer answer:  Shoulder pads can accommodate about a 3 inch range for every position bolt by tightening the shoulder pad webbing (this is how a single size back-panel frame would adjust with out the back channels).  The Icon’s channel nuts allow the bolt position to slide 3 inches (the portion that is normally fixed on a single size frame).  If you looked to maximize those two adjustment factors together, you get the 6 inches of range.

Most frames on the market can offer 3 to 4.5 inches of adjustment.  And there are some sloppy ones that adjust for big 8 or 9 inches ranges – but seldom perform well.    The beauty of ours is the cleanliness and canted angle on adjustment.

Context: Industry standards for medium size is about 18-20.5 inches, and large size about 19.5 – 22.0 (depends on manufacture, but Osprey and Arc’teryx would be good examples to compare to).  We aimed to hit both the medium and large size with the hunting demographic being most male and a bit larger than a more waif outdoor types.  The current icon will not fit super small nor super huge folks… but should perform well for the overwhelming majority of potential customers.

Torso Measurement:  This is the vertical measurement from the iliac crest (top of the hip bones) to C7 (largest vertebrae bump on lower neck).

Hope this helps…….Icon Design Team


11 Comments

Filed under Backpacks, Carbon Fiber, Hunting, technical, Ultralight

11 responses to “Icon Size Range

  1. Jeff M. Valunas

    Jason-
    Thanks for the info. Looks like I will be at the extreme max, if not an inch or too short. (hard to get a super accurate measurement by yourself). I think I was coming up with 23-25 inches. This is going to have to be something, I actually strap on in the maxed out position, and see… Shedding 5+ lbs from my current pack, and adding more Cubic Inches, would probably be worth a slightly small fit. After all, I have gotten used to that, throughout my life, at 6’7″! Do you wear yours in the maxed out position?? And, you said you are 6’3″, correct?? If short, I wonder if there would be a possible solution, that would not effect structural integrity??? Anyways- Thanks again for the info., I guess I will just have to wait, till I get mine, to test the fit.
    Thanks- Jeff M. Valunas

    • Kendall

      Jeff – I’m 6’4″ with a 34″ inseam so my torso is longer than most guys at my height rather than a 35-36″ inseam which is more common. I’ve been playing around with the sizing and honestly found the pack to be almost too big for me. But a lot of this is getting the right fit for the pack. One of the best resources I’ve found from what I think is a trusted resource is this video by Gregory Pack founder Wayne Gregory: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fH-3ztyMig
      I think most of us, myself included, don’t really wear packs as they were intended to wear. When I fit the Icon according to Wayne’s suggestion, the Icon is plenty big for my 6’4″ frame and perhaps this may help you and others out.

      • Thanks Kendall for you input and help!

        J

      • Jeff M. Valunas

        Hey Kendall, and Jason-
        Kendall, thanks for taking the time to give ‘real world’ feedback/ explanation, and the YouTube clip. I appreciate it, and it was helpful. I typically wear my pack correctly, (based off the clip), however, I too have been known to allow it to ‘sagg’ down on the hips on occasion, when possible. Clearly, this is not the correct way to do it, but sometimes it is just a little more comfortable that way. Jason- Thanks for the reply, I too am confident that I can make it work, I just wanted to voice some Q’s???
        Thanks again, both of you, look forward to getting my Icon, to try out!!!
        Jeff M. Valunas

      • No problem Jeff! Hope this helps you.

        J

    • Jeff,

      I am optimistic we can fit you in the Icon. We had another tall person here in the shop the other day and we were able to make the pack work well for him all the way extended.

      Jason

  2. Jordan

    KUIU,
    My pack arrived to today and I am speachless! it’s awesome! I’m on the smaller end of the torso range at 17 inches and want to be sure though that by sliding the shoulder straps up and down on the back pannel you increase and decrease the torso length.

    Thanks

  3. Mark

    It’s obvious you “aimed to hit both the medium and large size with the hunting demographic being most male and a bit larger than a more waif outdoor types” but hold on a minute. It would be interesting to know what you based this on, was it market research or stereotype? Us slightly less than average sized guys like to hunt too! I’m 5″6″ 140# and that’s not super small by any reach. Besides this sizing strategy excludes kids and women too. I have a credit card waiting to be maxed out should you decide to make gear that will fit me!

    I’m no engineer but it looks to me like it should be possible to make some changes to to icon to fit smaller guys. If the hip belt had another higher attachment point that would help. Also the shoulder straps could be moved inward a bit to make shooting a bow with the pack on easier too. Can I get by with only the top attachment points so the straps can rotate inward if I only carry light loads? Or drill another hole for them? This is a great pack
    that will only get better with refinement, and having this blog is a great way to get real world feedback. Thanks.

  4. New Subscriber to the blog/newsletter and this answered my question I emailed in to you! Thanks. I am hoping there is a cash flow surge at my wedding on 9 days so I can get some gear my way. Keep me posted on shipments of the pack. Seems like it is exactly what I am looking for. saw “THEELKREAPERS” review on outdoor life and all his negatives didn’t affect my planned use of the pack. I can’t and don’t want to carry 80+ lbs, and am interested the lightest fibers possible. Judging by your experience, I’m betting the material is a little more durable then meets the eye when you look at as many packs as he has. And after buying a bullet proof carbon bow, I know your frame has the potential to be just as durable.

    Looking forward to what could come. Any fabric/design changes being considered for the Icon yet? Curious…

    • Hi David,

      Welcome to KUIU and thank you for your interest and support. Congratulations on your up coming wedding. Good luck. No plans to make any changes at this point on the Icon. I look forward to you putting one on your back.

      Jason

Leave a comment